Italy is one of the biggest and oldest wine producers in the world and grapes are grown in almost every region of the country. It has 20 wine growing regions and they correspond with Italy's 20 administrative divisions:

Italy is located in southern Europe. It has 7,600 km of coastline and shares borders with France, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia, Vatican City and San Marino. Italy covers a total area of 1,899.2 km and has an approx population of 61,016,804. Rome is Italy's capital.

Italy has a predominantly Mediterranean climate, hot, dry in south and a cold, snowy Alpine climate in the far north.

Wine Growing Regions

Italian Wine Classifications

  • Vino da Tavola
  • Indicazione Geografica Tipica (IGT)
  • Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC)
  • Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita (DOCG)

Copyright © 2009-2019 and contributors.
Contributed content used with permission.
All Rights Reserved