Map of Morocco's Wine Regions

Morocco is located northwest corner of Africa , bordering the North Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea. The capital is Rabat and has a Mediterranean climate with hot, dry summers and warm winters.

Morocco has a quality system, appellation d'origine garantie, that is based on the French system. Wine grapes are grown in seven regions of Morocco and within these seven regions there are fourteen Appellation d'Origine Garantie (A.O.G's) and one Appellation d'Origine Controlee (A.O.C.) quality wine.

Wine Regions

Chaouia-Ouardigha: A.O.G Zenata
Doukhala-Abda: A.O.G Doukkala, A.O.G Sahel
Fes-Boulmane: A.O.G Beni-Sadden, A.O.G Sais
Gharb-Chrarda-Beni Hssen: A.O.G Rharb L'Oriental: A.O.G Angad, A.O.G Berkane
Meknes-Tafilalet: A.O.C Les coteaux de l'Atlas, A.O.G Beni-M'Tir, A.O.G Guerrouane, A.O.G Zerhoun
Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer: A.O.G Chellah, A.O.G Zaer, A.O.G Zemmour

Copyright © 2009-2019 and contributors.
Contributed content used with permission.
All Rights Reserved