Map of New Zealand

Go to: New Zealand's Wine Regions Map

New Zealand is located in the South Pacific Ocean south-east of Australia; an island nation, made up out of two large and several small islands. It covers a total area of 267,710 sq km and has a 2013 estimated population of 4,327,944. Wellington is the capital of New Zealand.

New Zealand has a temperate climate with sharp regional contrasts.

New Zealand is divided into sixteen regions and one territory, the Chatham Islands

- First grape vines planted in 1819.
- Marlborough has the largest are planted with grapes used for wines.
- Hawke's Bay is the second largest grower of wine grapes.
- Top grape varieties grown; 1/ Sauvignon Blanc 2/ Pinot Noir 3/ Chardonnay.
- Marlborough has the largest amount of wineries. - Auckland has the second largest amount of wineries.

Copyright © 2009-2019 and contributors.
Contributed content used with permission.
All Rights Reserved