New South Wales Wine Regions

Go to: Australia Wine Regions

Beside the South Eastern Australia wine zone, which covers the whole of New South Wales, there are eight zones with 16 wine growing regions in NSW. Additionally one of the regions, Hunter, has three sub regions. The Murray Darling and Swan Hill regions extend into the neighboring state of Victoria.

New South Wales Wine Zones and Regions

StateMultiple Zone ZoneRegionSub Region
NSWSouth Eastern Australia Big RiversMurray Darling
Swan Hil
South Eastern AustraliaCentral RangesCowra
South Eastern AustraliaHunter ValleyHunterBroke Fordwich
Upper Hunter Valley
South Eastern AustraliaNorthern RiversHastings River
South Eastern AustraliaNorthern SlopesNew England Australia
South Eastern AustraliaSouth CoastShoalhaven Coast
Southern Highlands
South Eastern AustraliaSouthern NSWCanberra District
South Eastern AustraliaWestern Plains

ZoneWine grape production in tonWine grape planted in ha
Big Rivers420,94528,450
Central Ranges20,0395,126
Hunter Valley10,5542,628
Northern Slopes286188
Northern Rivers9543
South Coast1,737364
New South Wales453,65636,799
Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics 2011

Copyright © 2009-2019 and contributors.
Contributed content used with permission.
All Rights Reserved