Auvergne is located in the south central region of France surrounded by extinct volcanoes. It covers a total area of 26,013 sq. Km and has an approx. population of 1,343,000. Clermont-Ferrand is the capital.

It is one of the oldest wine producing regions in France but is little known outside the area. Auvergne does not produce any AOC wines but several VDQS wines.

Auvergne is divided into four departments: Allier, Cantal, Haute-Loire, and Puy-de-Dôme

Map of Auvergne

Auvergne and departments map, Carte des départements de la région Auvergne

Wine Growing Regions

Saint-Pourçain sur Sioule, in the Allier department
Côtes d'Auvergne area in the Puy de Dôme department

Copyright © 2009-2019 and contributors.
Contributed content used with permission.
All Rights Reserved