Australia's Wine Regions

Go to: Map of Australia

Australian Wine Growing Regions

Australia's wine growing regions are registered as protected Geographical Indications and start at state level. New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria, and Western Australia are Australia's four main states in this hierarchy. Within these four states the next level of GI is called a zone. In addition several of these zones have regions within them and a few of these have more specific sub regions.

In addition to the previously named state zones there is one additional zone in Australia, "South Eastern Australia" that covers part of the two states of South Australia and Queensland and the whole of New South Wales, Victoria, and Tasmania.

Queensland and Tasmania have no protected GI's at zone level beyond the South Eastern Australia zone. Queensland has two protected GI's at regional level and some unofficial growing regions. In Tasmania there are no official GI's but there are six unofficial defined growing regions.

Zone Wine grape production in ton Wine grape planted in ha
Australia 1,582,049 145,382

Copyright © 2009-2019 and contributors.
Contributed content used with permission.
All Rights Reserved