The Île-de-France region is located in northern France, surrounded by Upper Normandy, Picardy, Centre, Champagne-Ardenne, and Burgundy. It covers a total area of 12,012 sq Km and has an approx population of 11,800,000. Paris is the capital of the Île-de-France region.

Île-de-France comprises of eight departments: Paris, Essonne, Hauts-de-Seine, Seine-Saint-Denis, Seine-et-Marne, Val-de-Marne,Val-d'Oise, and Yvelines

Isle of France and departments map
Carte des départements de la région Île-de-France

Map of Isle of France (Îsle de France)

Map of Îsle de France

Wine Growing Regions

In the 18th century the region of Îsle de France was the largest producer of wine in France. Area vineyards are for the most small, with the largest vineyard, 1 ha in size, in the Suresnes area.

Copyright © 2009-2019 and contributors.
Contributed content used with permission.
All Rights Reserved